Sri Lanka revisited

I spent three years living and working in Sri Lanka between 2000-2003.   I had some highs, I had some lows – but over all it was an incredibly inspiring experience and the people of Sri Lanka (especially her children) will live in me forever. For a long time now I have wanted to scan an upload some of the many photographs I took whilst I was there.  Together with two other photographers, we put them in a book and with the support of the British High Commissioner, Gunaratne Offset and the Barefoot bookshop we launched “Palmy Days” – the collection.   If you would like to buy a copy of the hard-backed book, drop me a line on caroline (dot) jaine (at ) gmail (dot) com.  In the meantime I have posted a couple of pictures below, but the rest are on FlickR at http://www.flickr.com/photos/4imediate/sets/72157621865366026/

Maharagama Boys

Maharagama Boys

 

Makshift Cricket in Hikaduwa

Makshift Cricket in Hikaduwa

Gypsies on the beach at Unawantuna

Gypsies on the beach at Unawantuna

Sea Side School in Colombo

Sea Side School in Colombo

South coast splash

South coast splash

 If you want to use any of these or the other pictures (for positive purposes) you may do so, with a credit to “C.Clennell-Jaine” – but please drop me a line (above email) to let me know.

One response to “Sri Lanka revisited

  1. Those pictures look well nice. Since I was a child, I wanted to visit Sir Lanka because one of my favorite writers at that moment was Arthur C. Clark, whom was living there, so I always wandered how that place looked like. I guess that one of the downers is poverty levels, and one of the highlights the amazing scenery, and people’s warmth (you can tell people look well friendly from your pictures). What did you like the most about Sir Lanka???? What do you recommend checking out?

Leave a Reply

